Mary

Mary’s Village

Going to Mary’s village gave me a whole new perspective on life. Mary lives in a village called Maande. When leaving MAD she takes a bus for 2 hours and walks 2 hours up a mountain to get to her village. Her kitchen is small and she uses firewood that she collects to start a fire. They have no cutting board and a limited supply of materials needed for cooking. Mary cooks for her family when she’s home, fetches the water, cuts grass, gets firewood, and washes dishes and clothes. Mary is very hardworking and does her best to take care of her family. Her family was so proud of her and everything she has accomplished. In comparison, I live in Marin in California. My kitchen is a lot bigger than Mary’s and we have every material needed for cooking. At home, I don’t do many chores. I wash my dishes, clean my room, cook and sometimes do my laundry. Mary and I live very different lives. It amazes me how people in Tanzania have so little, but they don’t complain and they work very hard to take care of their family. Mary’s family welcomed us to their home and we’re so appreciative of the work we were doing. Mary is an incredible young woman and with her work ethic, she will go very far in life.

Ry Goodwin

IMG_0384.JPG

Leave a comment