They Call Me Grandpa!

Wow!  What an experience MAD is providing our group from Salesforce.com.  This is my third international volunteering experience and one of the best.

image
Juma and I at Lake Chala.

From the moment we arrived at the guesthouse in Moshi, Theresa has been very accommodating and makes sure we are enjoying the Tanzania experience as well as supporting the MAD mission,   The most impactful moments for me have been with the kids.   I wasn’t sure what to expect but certainly didn’t expect them to be so endearing and genuine,   When we were first introduced, they came over with huge smiles on their faces and embraced me in the double hug as if we have been friends forever.   I continue to be amazed at how happy they are, how much love they share, and the respect they show especially given their individual backgrounds.   As I am the oldest in the group, Eliona and Juma call me grandpa…. with a giggle.   I love it.  So far I’ve enjoyed our many conversations (in English), singing, walking 10k around Lake Chala, and shoveling.dirt at the work site with them…  Always smiling, always with a great attitude and never complaining.   I never thought I would become so attached to these kids in such a short amount of time.  I don’t want to say good bye!

About gomadnowvolunteer

Make a Difference (MAD). An organization which provides quality educational opportunities to vulnerable children. #volunteer #scholarships #orphans #Africa http://www.GoMADNow.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

