Came as a teacher, leaving as a student

I think the hardest part about writing a blog entry is deciding where to start. In this case, I think I’ll start here near the end.

I’ve been in Tanzania for 3 months now, and the time has certainly flown by.  I’m here in I guess a bit of a ‘double-role’.  I came through MAD as a Teaching Intern and have been working (and living during the week) at MAD’s partner school, The Royal Junior School in Himo.  It’s been here that I’ve been working to teach Secondary Science and also to collect participatory research for an Action Research project I’m working on as part of my dissertation for a Masters in Education.  When not at the school, I’ve been ‘moonlighting’ as a MAD volunteer on weekends and getting to be a part of the programs and activities with MAD.  It’s been great!  Whether making a splash with the kids at the local pool while teaching them to swim, taking in the gorgeous scenery on Sunday afternoon hikes, getting excited for games and activities with the kids at the orphanage, or enjoying the treat of a delicious meal out on the town, the experience with MAD and the scene in Moshi has so much to offer.

With regards to my teaching time at The Royal School, it has been beyond enriching.  Apart from getting to see the ‘MAD/Kili kids’ each day at school (they attend the Primary section) and enjoying lots of high fives and hugs, the insight I have gained from my experience at the school and working with the Secondary students has been incredible.  I have come to appreciate so many new dimensions to the teaching and learning dynamic (particularly from the perspective of within a developing nation).  The research project I have been working on aims to improve issues of social justice in the field of community & classroom-based education, specifically working with programs of empowerment, leadership development and life skills training for Tanzanian youth.  Despite a variety of differences in schooling that permeate from the socio-cultural and socio-economic context of Tanzania, the sense of community at The Royal School, and the warmth and sense of welcoming all visitors receive continues to inspire me (‘Karibu sana’ is more than just a phrase here with Mrs. Ndjike).  Mrs. Ndjike (the Head of School), the administrative and support staff, and the teachers themselves are really working to create an environment of quality education and learning for the students.  And the shining smiles on the students’ faces, along with the ‘Good Morning, Madam’ each day, was just as touching and inspiring on the last day as on the first.

In addition to an enriching experience working at the school, enjoying the comforts of the ‘MAD House’ and the variety of activities in town has also been a blast.  Whether enjoying a delicious local dish with ‘Western flair’ prepared by Pena (the guest house manager), admiring the stunning views of Mt. Kilimanjaro in the backyard, or sharing a story and a good laugh with other volunteers, the guest house has come to feel like a home-away-from-home (but maybe with a few more power outages ;).  Even Scooby-doo makes an appearance or two when the kids stay over for sleepovers, and that means there’s always lots of laughter!

Well, I’ve managed to do it again with this blog…I’ve rambled on without actually saying much ;D  I hope if you’ve read it though, you’ve been able to connect with some part of it – even if only learning a new Swahili word.  For a better understanding, Karibu Tanzania – come see for yourself! 😀

About gomadnowvolunteer

Make a Difference (MAD). An organization which provides quality educational opportunities to vulnerable children. #volunteer #scholarships #orphans #Africa http://www.GoMADNow.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Came as a teacher, leaving as a student

  1. patjorgensen says:

    Sounds like you have had such a great time and more ahead of you. I volunteered at the orphanage February 2011 and now coming back again in May with three others and so looking forward to it. Maybe our paths will cross. Great blog and it’s enlightening to fun to feel your enthusiasm. Pat Jorgensen, Ketchum, Idaho.

  2. patjorgensen says:

    Great to feel your enthusiasm and it sounds like you have had such a good time. I know the feeling of connecting with the kids and how wonderful it can be!!! I volunteered for the orphanage February of 2011 and I am coming back with three others on May 4 – maybe we will meet? pat jorgensen, ketchum, Idaho.

  3. That is really interesting, You are an overly professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to seeking extra of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in facebook with jammer!

  4. Kate says:

    Thank you for your comments Pat and Lyndon…I appreciate the feedback. Pat, I hope you are enjoying the rest of your time with the kids…it was so great to cross paths with your group and see the work you were all doing. As for an upcoming blog post, I am disconnected from regular access to the computer at the moment, so it likely won’t be until June when I am able to write again. Cheers! ~Kate 😀

Leave a Reply

