Monique in Tanzania

07-06-2011

Hand Written by: Monique

Typed by: A MAD Volunteer

I had a blast in Tanzania. I would say it was one of my favorite places. I thought it was really cool to see a completely different lifestyle. Most people don’t have electricity, people live in huts, and most people don’t have running water at home. At home I never really put thought into how much water I used because ever since I was a baby, I always had it. I also never realized how lucky I was and am to sleep in the bed I sleep in, in the home I live in, in the town I live in. But seeing how many children have nothing was very new to me. The kids live in small huts or if they’re lucky they live in a small house, but even then its nothing like what we have in America. I noticed that the people that live in huts have no electricity so they just use day light and go to bed before dark. The kids have dirty clothes with holes in them. Girls would wear boy clothes and boys would wear girl clothes and it wouldn’t matter. They barely had any clothing. Where I live people frequently go to the mall for a fresh new wardrobe or to get something new for a date or a dance. When I went to the orphanage I saw that the kids had very little, but were still very happy. I imagined what it would be like for the people where I live if they were in their situation. I would think it would be very hard for them. Where I live most people have it easy. Most of us go to nice schools, live in nice homes, and have good money for basic needs and extra. Being in Africa was a touch of reality and exposure. I am very grateful that I had the experience to get that because I feel that that will make me appreciate more and might have even made me a better person.

About gomadnowvolunteer

Make a Difference (MAD). An organization which provides quality educational opportunities to vulnerable children. #volunteer #scholarships #orphans #Africa http://www.GoMADNow.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

